Here you will find a complete guide to FR44 insurance after a DUI in Florida. This guide will walk you through the steps and procedures to help you better understand the driver license reinstatement process. Our agency specializes in FR44 insurance and have learned many things over the years and can answer any questions you might have. If you see something missing from this guide please feel free to give us a call.
Step 1 – Figuring out your requirements after a DUI.
If you were recently convicted of a DUI in Florida it is important to find out what your requirements will be to get your driver license reinstated first before you purchase insurance. If you have not yet been convicted you will need to wait until after your conviction to figure out the exact requirements. You will need to contact the Florida DMV to get a full list of requirements for your particular situation.
Find out how much you owe in fines and fees – You will need to contact the DMV to find out the exact dollar amount you will owe in fines and reinstatement fees to get your license back. It is better to know this up front so you can plan ahead and know exactly how much money you will need.
Find out if you are eligible for a hardship license – In many cases when you are convicted of a DUI in Florida you will be eligible to apply for a hardship license shortly after conviction. If this is your first DUI conviction you will have a 180 day revocation of your driving privilege. You can however apply for a hardship after 30 days. If you refused to submit a blood alcohol test you will not be able to apply for a hardship for 90 days. To Apply for a hardship license you will need to contact the Florida DMV to set up a hardship hearing.
Find out if you are required to have an ignition interlock device – The ignition interlock is a device that you must blow in to start your vehicle. The system will test you blood alcohol level and prevent you from starting the vehicle if you are intoxicated. If you were convicted of a DUI with a blood alcohol level of .15 or above then you will most likely be required to have the interlock device for six months. It is important for you to contact the Florida DMV to find out your exact requirement as this varies depending on your particular situation. If the DMV confirms you are required to have the ignition interlock device they will provide you with a name and phone number to a provider in your area. You will need to call the provider to find out how much it will cost for you and set up an appointment to have it installed in your vehicle. If required this device will need to be installed before you go to the DMV to get your license reinstated.
Step 2 – DUI Class
You will need to complete a 12 hour state approved DUI class to to be eligible for a hardship license. If you are not applying for a hardship license and your revocation period is already over you will need to show proof that you have enrolled in the class to get your license reinstated. It is important to make sure you complete this class because if you don’t they will suspend your license again. You can contact your local DMV to find a DUI class provider in your area. It is important to remember to bring proof of enrollment or completion of your DUI class to the DMV when you are getting your license reinstated.
Step 3 – FR44 Insurance
You should receive a letter in the mail from the Florida DMV stating that you are required to have FR44 insurance. If you have been convicted of a DUI and have not received this letter you will need to contact the DMV to confirm that it is required. The FR44 is typically required for three years from the time of conviction. In some cases it takes a little time for this letter to be sent out depending on when the DMV processes the conviction. If you did not get your license reinstated immediately following a conviction you might not need it for the full three years. The DMV can provide you with an exact date it will no longer be required. It is important to know this exact date so you can have the FR44 removed as soon as it is no longer required and this will save you money.
Determine what type of FR44 insurance you will need – If you have a vehicle you will need a regular FR44 policy that would include both the vehicle and the FR44 on the same policy. You can add all the same coverage options that are available on a regular auto insurance policy such as comprehensive, collision, uninsured motorist, medical payments, and rental car coverage.
If you do not own a vehicle – In this case you might need a non-owner FR44 insurance policy depending on whose vehicle you will be driving. This type of policy provides coverage while you are operating non-owned vehicles outside of the household. Non-Owner FR44 insurance policies specifically exclude coverage for any vehicle you own, regularly operate, have regular use of, and any vehicle owned by a relative. If you are operating a vehicle inside the household or a vehicle owned by a relative you should be listed on the same policy with the vehicle and FR44 and not have a separate non-owner policy. It is also important to note that if you are required to have the ignition interlock device you should not purchase a non-owner policy because you will need to have the device installed on a vehicle to get your license reinstated. Non-owner FR44 insurance has many limits and exclusions and you can read more about it here.
Call for FR44 insurance quotes – It is always good to call at least two to three companies to make sure you are getting a competitive rate. We recommend that you do this ahead of time so you have a good idea of what the total cost will be to get your license reinstated. Insurance rates are based on many factors such as location, age, driving record, and claims history.
Purchase FR44 Insurance – After you have confirmed your revocation period is over and that all of your other requirements have been fulfilled such as your DUI class and ignition interlock device you can now purchase your FR44 insurance. Per Florida state law FR44 insurance is required to be paid in full for the first six months. In some cases you will be able to make monthly payments at renewal. When you purchase your new policy the insurance company will electronically file the FR44 to the state of Florida. In most cases your agent will be able to provide you a copy of the FR44 certificate immediately.
Step 4 – Driver License Reinstatement
Before you go to the DMV make sure you have all the required documents to get your license reinstated such as proof of your DUI class, proof of FR44 insurance, and if required, proof that you installed the ignition interlock device. In some cases your insurance agent will need to fax a copy of the FR44 to the DMV while you are standing there if it has not yet been received by the DMV electronically. When you are getting your license reinstated ask the DMV for the exact date the FR44 will no longer be required so you can have it removed at that time. You will also need to make sure you do not let your FR44 insurance cancel or lapse during this time period as your license will get suspended.
Please feel free to give our office a call if you have any additional questions.