DUI convictions stay on your insurance record from a minimum of three years. Some insurance companies do go as far back as five years when determining your insurance rate. The State of Florida will likely always keep the DUI on your driving record but insurance companies only increase your rate for convictions that occurred in the past three to five years. Your DUI conviction will stay on your criminal record much longer than three years. Penalties get much worse with your second and third DUI in Florida. If you have any questions about your DUI and how it will relate to your insurance please feel free to give our office a call.
Drivers license revocation periods for a DUI
First conviction – You will be facing a 180 day revocation effective on the date of conviction. If your first DUI offense resulted in serious bodily injury you can be facing a three year revocation. You can apply for a hardship license in the county you reside.
Second conviction – If the second conviction is not within 5 years from prior conviction you will be facing a 180 day to 1 year revocation. You will not be eligible for a hardship license. If your second conviction is within 5 years from your prior conviction this will result in a 5 year revocation. You can apply for a hardship license one year after revocation.
Third conviction – If the third conviction is within 10 years of the second conviction, this will result in a 10 year revocation. You can apply for a hardship after two years from the revocation.
Please note this information is subject to change as it is determined by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. You can find their website page outlining DUI convictions here.