FR44 Insurance in Miami-Dade county can be expensive but our agents are here to help. Staybull Insurance specializes in both owner and non-owners FR44 insurance for individuals that have been convicted of a DUI. We are an independant insurance agency that writes thousands of FR44 policies all across the state. We provide FR44 insurance from major Florida carriers like Infinity, Progressive, Foremost, Dairyland, and more. When you request a quote from us we will search all these companies to find you the lowest rate possible. We strive to do our best to guide you through purchasing the coverage you need and making this process as easy as possible. With our agency you can request a quote, chat with us, and purchase your insurance from any computer or smartphone. In most cases we can fax the FR44 certificate to your local DMV so you can get your drivers license the same day. We are FR44 experts and can answer any questions you have. If you would like a quote click on the link below. Please feel free to give us a call if you have any questions, we are happy to help.
Miami-Dade FR44 Requirements
- You will be required to carry liability limits of 100/300/50 per Florida State law. This is $100,000 per person and $300,000 per accident for bodily injury to others and $50,000 in property damage coverage. This is much higher coverage than the average person has. The State of Florida is requiring this of you because they view you as “high risk” and they want to protect the public. If you own a vehicle or have a vehicle registered you will also need to carry personal injury protection.
- When you purchase your new FR44 policy the insurance company will need to submit the FR44 electronically to the state. In most cases the electronic filing takes three days to process. Your new insurance company can also fax the FR44 certificate to the DMV so you can get your drivers license reinstated immediately.
- Per Florida State law FR44 policies are required to be paid in full for six months. Beware of any insurance company that is allowing you to make monthly payments as they are not in compliance.
- The FR44 is required for three years from the date or original suspension and/or conviction. If you let your policy cancel before this requirement is fulfilled your drivers license will be suspended. We always advise our clients to ask your local DMV how long your FR44 is required as they will not notify us or the insurance company.
- If you do not own a vehicle or operate a vehicle on a regular basis you will be required to carry a non-owners FR44 policy.
Non-Owners FR44 Insurance in Miami-Dade
If you have gotten a DUI and do not have a vehicle you might be eligible for a non-owner FR44 policy. Named non-owner policies provide both bodily injury and property damage coverage to others while your operating another person’s vehicle. This type of policy is less expensive than a normal auto policy because they provide much less coverage. Named non-owner policies do not provide any physical damage coverage for the vehicle you are driving. The person that owns the vehicle should also have an insurance policy. This type of policy does not cover any vehicle you own or operate on a regular basis. If you own a vehicle or operate a particular vehicle on a regular basis you would not be eligible for a non-owners FR44 policy. Most non-owner policies do not provide any personal injury protection or medical payments coverage for you if you are injured in an accident. Uninsured motorist coverage can be added by endorsement. Named non-owner FR44 policies will fulfill the State of Florida requirement for individuals that do not have a vehicle. If you have any questions about this type of policy feel free to give us a call. If you would like a quote, submit a quote request by following the link below.
Some tips that to help you reduce the cost of your FR44 insurance..
- Reject comprehensive and collision coverage if you do not have a loan on your vehicle. This coverage is not required with the FR44 filing but is required if you have a lien on the vehicle.
- Add a personal injury protection deductible. Sometimes adding a PIP deductible in a big city like Miami can make a big difference in premium. You can opt to have a PIP deductible as high as $1,000.
- Make sure you are getting all the discounts you deserve. Also, make sure to opt into the go paperless discount if it is available.
- Make sure you are not getting charged for violations that are not yours. Ask your agent to review the violations on your driving record to make sure that they are correct. Insurance companies sometimes report them incorrectly and charge you to much.