Understanding your FR44 filing.
If you have been convicted of a DUI in the state of Florida, then there are certain penalties that you must deal with. For instance, you will have to pay fines, deal with a license suspension, and secure Florida FR44 insurance. However, before you secure this type of insurance, you also need to file form FR44 to the DMV. Here’s why.
- What is Form FR44?
Form FR44 serves as evidence that you have secured adequate insurance following your DUI conviction. In the state of Florida, drivers are required to carry $100,000 of bodily injury liability coverage per person, $300,000 of bodily injury liability per accident, and $50,000 of property damage liability following a DUI conviction. By filing your FR44 form with the DMV, you are verifying that you have met your new legal insurance requirements.
- What Happens if You Don’t Do Your FR44 Filing?
If the DMV does not receive your FR44 filing before the deadline, then you will face several consequences. For instance, the DMV will refuse to reinstate your driver’s license, meaning that you will be prohibited from driving. You will also lose your rights to register motor vehicles in the state and obtain vehicle decals.
- How Do I File My Form FR44?
Typically, your insurance provider will submit the FR44 filing to the DMV on your behalf. To be on the safe side, remind your agent, so your form doesn’t slip through the cracks. If you want to be particularly cautious, then you can ask your agent to send you a copy of the FR44 form and you can bring it to the DMV yourself.
This is what you need to know about your FR44 filing. Are you looking for assistance with your Florida FR44 insurance? If so, then contact the experts at Staybull Insurance. We are ready to get you the coverage that you need today.